News ID: 111780
Publish Date : 25 January 2023 - 22:01

TEHRAN – Iran’s Foreign Ministry on Wednesday announced sanctions against 34 individuals and entities from the European Union and the United Kingdom, days after Brussels and London imposed a fresh round of sanctions targeting Iranian officials and organizations.
The ministry said the individuals and entities were designated because of “supporting terrorism and terrorist groups, instigating and encouragement to terrorist acts and violence against Iranian people, interference in domestic affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran, fomenting

violence and unrest in Iran, dissemination of false information about Iran and participation in the escalation of cruel sanctions against Iranian people as an economic terrorism.”
Among the 22 EU individuals and three entities who face the travel ban and asset freeze include the Paris mayor Anne Hidalgo, the publishing manager of Charlie Hebdo magazine Laurent Sourisseau, notorious journalist Bernard-Henri Levy, as well as Danish far-right politician Rasmus Paludan.
The ministry also announced sanctions against a British entity and eight individuals, including the attorney general for England and Wales Victoria Prentis, former head of MI6 spy agency Richard Dearlove, and head of the British Army Patrick Sanders.
Tehran slammed London and Brussels for supporting, facilitating, and failing to counter the destructive acts of the sanctioned individuals and entities, noting that such measures are in contravention of international obligations regarding the fight against terrorism.
The EU and UK sanctions, read the statement, are “obvious violation of fundamental principles of international law set forth in the United Nations charter.”
It came two days after the European Union announced sanctions on more than 30 Iranian officials and organizations.
The sanctions targeted a number of senior Islamic Revolution Guards Corps (IRGC) officials as well as senior managers of the Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB).

* Comment: